Monday, May 9, 2016

Lies I Live By by Lauren Sabel (Spotlight, excerpt and GIVEAWAY) GFT




by Lauren Sabel

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: YA Thriller

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

These are the facts: My name is Callie Sinclair. I am seventeen years old. I live in San Francisco. I love my boyfriend, Charlie. I work for a secret governmental agency. I am a psychic spy. This romantic, action-packed twist on the classic spy novel is perfect for fans of Ally Carter’s Embassy Row series or for any reader who enjoys cinematic writing and stories of romance and intrigue.

At seventeen, Callie is the government’s youngest psychic spy, trained to track dangerous people and weapons in her visions. When another young—and handsome and witty—psychic joins the agency, Callie’s personal and professional lives get messy all at once. If she can’t find a way to change the events she’s seen in her visions, she could lose the people she loves most . . . and her mind. Literally.

Richly painted against the backdrop of San Francisco and Berkeley, Lauren Sabel’s enthralling novel captures the thrill of exploring a unique power in a dangerous world.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Exclusive Excerpt:


It all started when the spoon bent.



I didn’t mean to do it. It just happened, completely out of the blue at Stanford University’s Christmas party, among Mom’s nerdy colleagues and their families. One second I was staring at my reflection in my coffee spoon, waiting for Charlie to stop talking to my mom about college, and the next moment the spoon was bent at a ninety-degree angle in my hand.



“What were you thinking just then?” a voice asked inches from my ear. It was a washed-up looking hippie, with stringy blond hair and the stubble of a beard.



I tucked the spoon into my purse before anyone else could see it. “I was thinking how stirring coffee has just become problematic?”



I glanced over at Charlie and Mom to make sure they hadn’t noticed the bent spoon. They hadn’t. Not that they would, with Mom trying to convince Charlie of the hundred reasons he should stay in San Francisco forever, rather than taking her only child away from her. It struck me that the problem with being an only child is the word only.



“Can you do that again?” the hippie asked, and reached for the spoon in my purse.



I put my hand over my purse. “You do realize that I don’t know you, right?”



He sighed and withdrew his hand. “You’re right. I should spend the next hour explaining how I know about the migraines that paralyze you several times a week, and how, when you’re falling asleep sometimes, you suddenly know things that you shouldn’t know, things that are in other people’s minds.”



I felt my mouth fall open in surprise.



“And then I should explain how you sometimes guess what’s going to happen long before it does,” he continued, “and you see really terrifying things happening to people, and how you’ve tried to hide these things from the people you love, scared they’ll call you a—”



“Freak,” I whispered.




Book Purchase Links:



B&N 
Indiebound







B&N




~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AUTHOR Bio and Links:


Lauren Sabel lives in the quirky dark spaces of her mind, and she tries to shed light on these spaces in her books. After publishing VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD in Summer 2014 with Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of Harper Collins, she confronted her lifelong fear of being psychic by writing OUT OF MY MIND. Since in this YA thriller, teenage psychic spy Callie Sinclair works undercover for the government, forced to hide her real identity from everyone she loves, Lauren is now certain she’s on the CIA watch list.

Social Networks:

Twitter: laurensabel
Instagram: laurensabel

***********************************
GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway


23 comments:

  1. The book sounds very intriguing, looking forward to reading it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Very intriguing. What kind of research did you do?

    ReplyDelete
  3. loved reading about this book, thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thank you for both the excerpt and great giveaway

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thank you for the excerpt.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Really great post, I enjoyed the excerpt! Thanks for sharing :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. What a great and fascinating excerpt.

    ReplyDelete
  8. What do you think makes a good story?

    ReplyDelete
  9. San Francisco makes such a great setting for a book!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Thanks for the giveaway; I like the excerpt. :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. I enjoyed the excerpt and look forward to reading more.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Good afternoon and thank you for the opportunity to win

    ReplyDelete
  13. I love books with psychics written in them. Sounds like a fun read---Rae

    ReplyDelete
  14. Congrats on the new book and good luck on the book tour!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Thanks for the terrific giveaway and hope you have an outstanding weekend.

    ReplyDelete
  16. I appreciate you bringing us this giveaway, thank you

    ReplyDelete
  17. Good Afternoon and thanks for the great giveaway

    ReplyDelete
  18. I love all I have read so far. On my summer TBR list.

    ReplyDelete
  19. What are your book pet peeves?

    Betul E.

    ReplyDelete