Sunday, January 5, 2014

Rebel Angel series, Firebrand and Bloodstone

I was asked to review a new to me fantasy series and since the book being presented was the second in the series, my liaison knows that I REALLY prefer to begin at the beginning and asked the publisher to send me the first novel so that I would be able to read them in order.  I was fascinated by this series but reluctantly ...almost the way one is drawn to look at horror movies (which I don't watch because I have too vivid an imaginations and have nightmares afterward)...because although I think it is a compelling series I am not uplifted when I finish reading...but rather a little mournful.  This is not one of those neatly packaged, happy ever after series...but it definitely is an intriguing read.  I love that the characters are slightly alien to what we consider the norm and the sequence of events is just a bit off-kilter to that which is considered to be 'normal' but wow, they definitely are strong figures.  I think that the author leaves a lot out and I would be happier if some things played out differently but I really am looking forward to the next in the series.

My reviews:


Firebrand (Rebel Angels) by Gillian Philip is Book One of the ‘Rebel Angels’ series that centers around the Sithe society as seen through the interactions between the family of Griogair and the queen, Kate NicNevin, known as the Daughter of the Snows. Seth is the illegitimate son of Griogair, rejected by almost everyone except his half-brother Conal, future leader of the Dun. A political upheaval results in the brothers being exiled to the mortal realm in the world on the other side of Sgath, the Veil between the worlds, where they discover that evil is not confined to their own world. Unfortunately, if Kate has her way, there won’t be anything to keep the two worlds separate and the evils the mortals can conceive will be the least of their concerns.

This stark fantasy story is the beginning of an intriguing series that provides a different view of the Fey. Please be advised that there is a fair amount of violence and fairly gritty events as these memorable characters and their lives are presented. The complicated relationships between the half-brothers and their responsibilities as well as the interactions with the females in their lives highlight the challenges of handling potential immortality and its impact on relationships with those who have relatively short mortal lives. There are significant and painful events that mold the characters of each brother and some unexpected developments that will have significant repercussions that will affect the future of both the Sithe and mortal races. There are a few somewhat heavyhanded hints about future events but overall this is a fascinating tale that has piqued my interest in the series although this definitely is not a light and airy story.
© Night Owl Reviews


Bloodstone (Rebel Angel Series) by Gillian Philip is Book Two of the ‘Rebel Angels’ fantasy series that continues the saga of the Sithe who are engaged in a desperate and long-term search for a way to avoid the destruction of the Veil between their world and that of mortals. Centuries have passed while Conal and Seth have been exiled along with Conal’s mother Leonora to search for the Bloodstone that will be pivotal in whether the Veil persists or fails. Unfortunately, their goal differs from their inimical queen, Kate’s, and she will destroy whatever lives she deems expedient using her minions and associates. Conal’s sister repudiates the land of the Sithe and attempts to raise her daughter Fionnuala completely in the mortal world but the struggle goes on and the price paid in blood and tears continues to rise.

This exciting fantasy series continues to provide a mesmerizing glimpse into a hard-fought struggle that tangentially affects mortal humans but rarely gives them much power in the conflict that may decide the fate of their entire race. The alien philosophy displayed by the long-lived beings known as the Sithe is dramatically displayed in the violence and ruthless destruction detailed in the stories in this series. This is definitely not a stand-alone book and even familiarity with the first compelling book in the series fails to explain all of the events that take place but this is a mesmerizing addition to the series and introduces new striking characters who cause unexpected twists in the story. Perhaps an explanation of some of the rituals and beings who appear in the story would be helpful because I found myself a little lost in a few places but I still thought this to be a great addition to the series, even though I am not thrilled about certain developments, and I look forward to more exciting tales in this series.  
© Night Owl Reviews

Copies of these compelling stories were provided to me in exchange for an honest review  


  1. Thanks for the Reviews :) I Haven't read any of those but they sound good!